…and some just went

ROAD IN A VILLAGE © Filip Mazurek | Dreamstime.com

I have a classmate from last semester’s A&P class with extreme test anxiety. She would be in full blown flippin’ out mode before every exam to the point I would tell her “Woo-sah” before the instructor handed out the exam. However, she made it through the course with a decent grade.

I was glad to see her when I walked into class recently. She stuck around for part two of A&P. When I got a chance to talk to her during break, she revealed that she was no longer pursuing nursing, but another degree. Why? An academic advisor told her she was at a disadvantage because of her grades. And rather than apply for a program she’d have little chances of getting into (my school’s nursing program is limted-access, highly competitive, and only looks at your pre-requisite course grades), she would rather get a different degree.

Everyone knows that nursing is a hot job right now…it’s in high demand because of the shortage and the aging of the baby boomer. So, naturally, schools are being flooded with people who are seeking a career change and have decided to pursue nursing.

Unfortunately, not everybody is able. My father used to say, “Many are called, few are chosen, and some just went.” At the tech school I attended before this one, I would often start a course with class full of people only to lose up to half of the class within a month because they didn’t have what it took. They were only there because it seemed like the thing to do. I graduated from that certificate program with maybe two people I started with…out of twenty or so. (Scary, I know) That’s why there are so many different career paths. What works for one doesn’t for another.

So, as much as I like her and as much as I think she’s got the people skills to be a nurse, I can’t say I’m mad at her decision to change course. She is still pursuing her education and she hasn’t given up, just changed direction. There is another career path for her where her compassion for others will be greatly uitilized. So, although nursing isn’t the path for her, she wants to finish school. I have a former classmate who was told to consider a 2 year college then transfer to a university because of her grades. In this situation, it discouraged her completely and she gave up. So, I respect my A&P classmate saying “okay, perhaps this is not for me, but it will not stop me from getting my education.”

We have to determine our purpose and really walk in that. If we chase things that are not for us, we’ll constantly hit a wall and be in a holding pattern. (The same holds true if we do things out of order). This doesn’t mean give up at the first sign of trouble (I’m a witness to this). That could just mean you need to make a few adjustments to make it work. The key is in knowing the difference.

Leave a Reply

